Tigers Take Indiana Division III Invitational Title

Tigers Take Indiana Division III Invitational Title

Crawfordsville, Ind. - Led by firsts in 10 events, DePauw totaled 821 points and easily won the Indiana Division III Swimming and Diving Invitational. Franklin was second with 621, while Rose-Hulman was third with 382.

Angela Newlon and Mary Woods were both double-winners for the Tigers. Newlon took first in the 200-yard freestyle (1:56.43) and the 500 free (5:04.57), while Woods won the 100 butterfly (1:00.52) and the 100 breaststroke (1:09.44).

Also turning in firsts were Allison Lund (50 free, 25.02), Kirsten Olson (100 free, 55.59) and Elaine Davis (1-meter diving, 210.45 pts).

Shelby Whitt was second in two events (200 free, 2:00.23/500 free, 5:24.25) as was Olivia Neff (50 free, 25.18/100 free, 55.72).

Also finishing second were Olson in the 200 individual medley (2:15.75), Annie Graves in the 100 backstroke (1:01.93) and Samantha Ostreicher in one-meter diving (118.25 pts.).

DePauw swept the three relays as Graves, Woods, Newlon and Ellen Riehle won the 200 medley relay (1:51.94) and Marihelen Gallagher, Riehle, Graves and Woods did the same in the 200 free relay (1:43.21). The 400 free relay of Newlon, Neff, Jamie Fritsch and Olson wrapped up the meet with a first in 3:43.18.

The Tigers return to action on Saturday, October 22, at the Indiana Intercollegiates at Purdue.