Tigers prevail in double overtime thriller

Tigers prevail in double overtime thriller

Greencastle, Ind. – It was more heroics for the No. 1 seed DePauw women's soccer team against No. 4 seed Wittenberg on Wednesday as they claimed a 2-1 double overtime win in the North Coast Athletic Conference tournament semifinal game.

When the two teams met in the regular season DePauw won 2-1 in overtime thanks to a game-deciding goal from Kelsey Cobbs. This time Kathryn Ruark hit the game-winner (108:36) to advance DePauw to the championship game on Saturday.

DePauw got a great look at the net when Alyson Marzonie gained some space down the left side of the field and found Bridget Brendza on a lead pass. Brendza promptly crossed it to the middle of the field where Ruark was waiting in front of the net. Her shot ricocheted off the left post and bounced in, as the Tiger bench rushed the field to celebrate the win.


It wasn't all smooth sailing for the Tigers who trailed 1-0 when Wittenberg's top scorer Kate Burns scored at 18:20 on a goal that was set up by a free kick near midfield. Furthermore, the Tigers had to play without starting defender Maddie Smith who suffered an injury 17 minutes into the game and did not return.

DePauw received its first break of the game at the 32:54 mark. After Marzonie kicked a corner that found the front of the net, it was a Wittenberg defender that touched the ball last as it went into the goal to make it 1-1.

The score remained the same until Ruark's game-winner. DePauw outshot Wittenberg 16-10 and took the corner advantage 6-4.

DePauw goalkeeper Riley Riordan (11-6-1) spent all 108:36 in the net for the win. She made three saves. Wittenberg keeper Maggie Grieser (5-2) made six saves in the loss.

With the win and No. 1 seed status the women will host Denison on Saturday in the championship game. Denison defeated Kenyon on Wednesday 1-0. The Big Red also gave DePauw its only conference loss in the regular season – a 3-1 outcome on Oct. 24.

The game Saturday is scheduled to start at 2 p.m.