Tiger Tales: Emily Scinta

Tiger Tales: Emily Scinta

Tiger Tales is a weekly piece highlighting a DePauw student-athlete. Athletic-intern Adam Tierney conducts the interviews.

Emily Scinta is a junior on the women's lacrosse team who in her career has scored 16 goals and tallied 12 assists. 

She comes from Louisville, Ky. and is a graduate of Kentucky Country Day High School. Scinta loves hanging out with her friends, working out and reading in her free time.

Scinta is studying Art History and Communications. She is the recruitment director for Kappa Alpha Theta for 2016-2017, a fitness instructor teaching Barre at Lilly and part of the Student-Athlete Advisory Committee (SAAC).

Q: How would your friends and family describe you?

A: Positive, bubbly, social, friendly, approachable, smiley, hard-working and happy.

Q: What one or two things do you currently do in your training that are keys to your success?

A: I love to run so I go running on off days. I also hurt my back at the beginning of season so I haven't been able to lift. So Barre has been a good cross-training exercise because it strengthens your core and works on flexibility. So, it's a different workout than lacrosse, but it keeps me balanced in terms of cardio and strengthening because I can't lift weights yet.  

Q: What would you say is your role on the team?

A: I think the biggest thing that I bring to the team is that I'm a big communicator on the field. On defense I call out who has who. When we are on defense we are constantly talking so I think being a big communicator is a big role. I'm also a positive player. At practice I try to be a positive influence. When we are doing fitness, I like the running aspect, but a lot of people hate it so I stay positive and talk people through it.

Q: Could you elaborate on your lacrosse experience and the start of the DePauw lacrosse program?

A: I think it's really exciting to see the program grow. Coming in freshman year, I knew it was a new program, but I didn't realize how different it was from my high school program because in high school we were state champs and were at the top. So it's interesting to start at the bottom and see things progress. From freshman year to now, I have definitely seen the skill level going up, and it is exciting to see the program grow. It has had its ups and downs, but I like the direction the team is headed.

Q: What role has your team/coach played in your life at DePauw?

A: My teammates are my best friends for sure. I love all my sorority sisters, some of them are on the team, but when we are with the team it's not like we are in different sororities. We all just mesh together which is really great. I can talk to any of them about anything going on in my life.

Q: Do you have any superstitions or a routine before a game?

A: Before a game, I love listening to hardcore rap. No one really expects it, and it's so funny because when people first meet me they would never expect that.  But I love listening to pump up music like G-Eazy, Fetty Wap, and Kanye. Then I try to go around and get everyone pumped up. I used to be a mental player, but it made me a worse player because I would overthink everything so now I really try to focus on getting pumped and playing.

Q: Do you have a favorite quote?

A: I love the quote, "Go out and make a difference in someone's life every day." My dad used to say that to me every morning before school. I also like the quote, "Anyone can win on any given day," because I think it is very accurate. As long as you come out hard and have a game plan you are all ready to go.

Q: What were the best parts about studying abroad in South Africa?

A: I liked that it was something that I wasn't expecting. When I got there it was nothing that I could have even expected. I really liked all the people I met. I liked studying at the University of Cape Town because it was very different from DePauw. It was a big university and there was so many different things going on with race in South Africa. So it was interesting to hear what was going on and relating it back to the U.S. But I think that the people I met and the relationships I made were really great.

Q: If you were to be stranded on an island, what three things would you want?

A: Oatmeal. I love oatmeal. It's my favorite food. I also think I would want my mom and my brother with me on the island because my brother would help me survive and my mom would be there when I'm crying.

Q: If you won the lottery, what is the first thing you buy?

A: I would make a list of all the people that have done something for me and then give out some of the money to those people. Then I would buy a house in Marshall, Massachusetts because that is where my grandparents live. I'd get a house on the beach because it's my favorite place in the world.