Paige Gooch Earns Amy Hasbrook Award

Paige Gooch Earns Amy Hasbrook Award

Greencastle, Ind. —  Paige Gooch (Fort Mitchell, Ky./Beechwood), an economics major and mathematics minor on the women's golf team, has been selected as DePauw's top senior female student-athlete by the University's department of intercollegiate athletics as she earned the Amy Hasbrook Award.

The Hasbrook Award is presented annually to a senior female student-athlete who best exemplifies effort and excellence in academics, athletics, leadership, integrity, dedication to the team, campus involvement and community service.

Gooch joined Sarah Gates '07 as the only four-time all-America selections in DePauw women's golf history when she earned first team honors this year to go along with second team distinction each of her first three seasons.

This season Gooch posted a 78.2 stroke average over 25 rounds for the second-best average in a DePauw season and was named the North Coast Athletic Conference Women's Golfer of the Year for the second straight time after winning her second consecutive NCAC title. She earned similar honors in 2011 in the Southern Collegiate Athletic Conference prior to being named the Division III Freshman of the Year. 

Gooch finished her career with a 79.02 average over 98 rounds which broke the previous DePauw record held by Gates. This year she won five of the 11 tournaments in which she competed with 10 finishes in the top 10. Over her career she won 10 events and was a top-10 finisher 32 times.

During her four seasons, the Tigers finished no worse than eighth at the national championships and matched the program's best finish with a second-place showing in 2012. As an individual, Gooch finished in the top 14 three times in her four NCAA appearances.

A Phi Beta Kappa and Chi Alpha Sigma National College Athlete Honor Society inductee, Gooch is a member of DePauw's Management Fellows Program and a three-time choice to the Women's Golf Coaches Association All-American Scholar Team.

Gooch earned Capital One Academic All-America® Second Team At-Large honors as a junior and was recently named to this year's Academic All-District team meaning her name will again appear on the national ballot. 

She served as a peer tutor, a presidential ambassador for the University and chapter president of Alpha Chi Omega.

Other finalists for this year's Hasbrook Award included Chelsea Cutler (field hockey), Caroline Emhardt (tennis) and Alex Gasaway (basketball). 

Jack Burgeson, of the men's swimming and diving team, was named the recipient of the Phil Eskew Award as the top senior male student-athlete. Complete information on that is available here.

The awards are named for former DePauw student-athletes Amy Hasbrook '00 and Phil Eskew Jr. '63. Hasbrook was a four-year letterwinner for the women's basketball team who lost her life in a fire in 2002. Eskew, the president of DePauw's "D" Association for over 20 years, was a 1994 inductee into the DePauw Athletic Hall of Fame and was instrumental in its formation in 1986.

Amy Hasbrook Award Winners Phil Eskew Award Winners
2005 Amy Argetsinger, basketball 2005 JaMarcus Shephard, football/track and field
2006 Leslie Dillon, cross country/track and field 2006 P.J. Mitchell, baseball
2007 Liz Bondi, basketball/tennis 2007 Evan Webeler, tennis
  Sarah Gates, golf 2008 Rob Alexander, swimming and diving
2008 Katie Doogan, swimming and diving   Jeremiah Marks, football
2009 Amanda Stier, swimming and diving 2009 Michael McNelis, football
2010 Lauren Reich, cross country/track and field 2010 John Cook, swimming and diving
  Megan Soultz, softball   Spud Dick, football
2011 Courtney Lauer, track and field 2011 Jonathan Lambert, football
2012 Catie Baker, swimming and diving 2012 Kreigh Kamman, soccer
2013 Bridgette Shamleffer, field hockey 2013 Matt Kukurugya, swimming and diving
  Kate Walker, basketball
2014 Paige Gooch, golf 2014 Jack Burgeson, swimming and diving