Wittenberg Claims NCAC Softball Tournament Championship

Wittenberg Claims NCAC Softball Tournament Championship

Greencastle, Ind. – A grand slam by Charlee Clark in the bottom of the sixth put an abrupt end to the NCAC Softball Tournament Championship as Wittenberg defeated DePauw 12-3 (6 inn.).

The grand slam ended a seven-run sixth inning and a game in which Wittenberg put together 14 hits.

It was Clark's only hit of the game. Katy Baumgartner went 2-for-4 with a triple, two RBI and two runs. Loren Combs, the tournament MVP, went 2-for-2 with a run scored. Casey Hobbs and Kaela Hughes each collected two hits.

Chelsea Zang (18-5) took the win after 4.1 innings of work. She gave up three hits and all three runs given up were unearned. Abby Haab recorded the save in 1.2 innings.

DePauw used three different pitchers to no avail. Ashlee Gibson (6-2) ended up taking the loss, giving up three runs (one earned). Brooke Bandy started but was replaced after two batters. She later came back in the game.

Emma Baldwin pitched 2.2 innings and gave up four runs and six hits.

Gibson was 2-for-2 at the plate, scoring two runs and recording one RBI. Megan Montgomery drove in two runs and was 2-for-3 for the game. Liz Getz and Haleigh Chasteen each recorded a hit.

Wittenberg improves to 32-7-1 and earns an automatic bid into the NCAA Tournament. DePauw drops to 29-16 and will wait to see if their season continues with the NCAA selection show at 1 p.m. Monday.

2016 All-Tournament Team:

Ryan Lee – Denison

Amanda Boyle – Ohio Wesleyan

Sarah Flint – Ohio Wesleyan

Liz Getz – DePauw

Haleigh Chasteen – DePauw

Emma Baldwin – DePauw

Sidney Holler – DePauw

Loren Combs – Wittenberg

Kaela Hughes – Wittenberg

Chelsea Zang – Wittenberg

Katy Baumgartner – Wittenberg

MVP: Casey Hobbs - Wittenberg