Five Firsts Lead DePauw to Classic Win

Five Firsts Lead DePauw to Classic Win

Greencastle, Ind. - Led by five firsts, DePauw totaled 111.5 points and won the DePauw Classic. Wabash was second with 91.5.

Zach Batt was a double winner for the Tigers in the 1,000 meters (2:39.77) and the mile (4:25.06). Callaway Bird topped the 800-meter field (1:59.40) and was second in the mile (4:27.12), while Luke Patty won the 400 meters (51.11) and was second in the 200 meters (22.90).

DePauw claimed the top four spots in the 5,000 meters led by Paul Christian's win (15:09.55) and Spencer Miller's second (15:22.11). Miles Main was third (16:00.25), Aaron Worley was fourth (16:03.42) and Zane Williams placed seventh (16:20.20).

Johnny Miller was fourth in the 400 meters (52.38) and eighth in the 200 meters (23.87) with Tyler Nemeth also placing fourth in the pole vault (3.98m/13-00.75).

Finishing fifth was Michael Ocasek in the mile (4:33.06), while Trevor Hoftiezer was sixth in the 3,000 (9:24.82) and Satchel Oskins seventh in the 60 hurdles (8.98).

Turning in eighth-place finishes were Kamal Apatira in the long jump (5.73m/18-9.75) and Luis Torres in the triple jump (10.51m/34-5.75).

DePauw's 4x400 relay was fifth in 3:50.84.

The Tigers return to action on February 23 at Anderson's Fred Wilt Invitational.