Tigers Finish Third at Indiana Division III Championships

Tigers Finish Third at Indiana Division III Championships

Greencastle, Ind. - Led by three first-place finishes, DePauw totaled 130 points and finished third at the Indiana Division III Championships at Blackstock Stadium. Wabash won with 203 points and Rose-Hulman was second with 190.

Josh Himes of Rose-Hulman was the Field MVP and Toluwani Adebakin of Anderson earned Track MVP honors.

Samuel Voelz collected his fourth 800-meter win of the spring season after finishing in 1:57.47 and he also was second in the 1,500 (4:06.88).

Polo Burguete was the Tigers' other individual winner as he crossed first in the 10,000 meters (32:30.77). In all, DePauw collected 31 points in the event as Cole Martin was second (33:01.34), Zach Batt third (33:16.76), Nick Meszaros fourth (33:27.49) and Aaron Worley seventh (35:16.71).

Three other Tigers put together runner-up performances including Luke Patty in the 200 (22.10), Paul Christian in the 5,000 (15:35.82) and Demarco Henry in the discus (44.12m/144-9). 

Chase Wright was fourth in the 100 meters (10.91) and fifth in the 200 (22.41), while Jacob Avenaim placed sixth in the 100 (10.98). Jordan Booker led the Tigers in the 400 with a fourth (50.04) with Patty placing fifth (50.06). DePauw's other fourth-place showing came from Nate Baker in the hammer (44.09m/144-8).

Rounding out DePauw's individual scorers were Kyle Munz (3,000-meter steeplechase; 5th; 10:02.98), Pierce Sheehan (800 meters; 6th; 2:02.32), Jarrod Stiver (long jump; 7th; 5.84m/19-2), Andrew Saunders (javelin; 7th; 41.61m/136-6), Lucas Taylor (javelin; 8th; 40.22m/131-11) and Luis Torres (triple jump; 8th; 11.14m/36-6.75).

The Tigers' 4 x 400 relay wrapped up the meet with a win in a meet record time of 3:19.05, while the 4 x 100 relay was second in 43.11 seconds.

DePauw competes next in the Rose-Hulman Twilight on Friday, April 20, at 5 p.m.