DePauw Opens Season by Winning Indiana DIII Invitational

DePauw Opens Season by Winning Indiana DIII Invitational

Crawfordsville, Ind. - Led by wins in seven events, DePauw totaled 926.5 points and won the Indiana DIII Invitational at Wabash College. The host Little Giants finished with 710.5 points.

Ben Hilfinger, Charlie Stewart-Bates and Seth Fagen each collected a pair of firsts to lead the way. Hilfinger won the 200-yard butterfly (1:59.20) and the 200 individual medley (2:03.57) and was second in the 100 fly (53.02).

Stewart-Bates was a winner in the 1,000 freestyle (10:08.24) and the 500 free (4:54.93) and was second in the 200 free (1:47.58).

Fagen won the 100 backstroke (54.09) and 200 back (1:59.21) and Ethan Spencer was the other winner in the 100 IM (57.93).

Other second-place finishers included Matt Wilson in the 100 breaststroke (1:01.41), Xavier Fuller in the 100 IM (58.06), Patrick Unterreiner in the 200 breast (2:16.12) and Matthew Netherton in the 500 free (4:59.78).

Unterreiner was also third in the 100 breast (1:02.02) and the 200 IM (2:04.85) as was Ian Longan in the 200 fly (2:04.31) and the 100 fly (53.24). The other third was turned in by Jack Christie in the 1000 free (10:33.42).

The Tigers' 200 medley relay of Ryan Smith, Fuller, Longan and Kellen Bachler was third in 1:39.95.

DePauw returns to action on Saturday, October 19 at the Indiana Intercollegiates at Purdue.