McManus Garners 200 Breast National Championship; Tigers Finish 15th

McManus Garners 200 Breast National Championship; Tigers Finish 15th

Indianapolis, Ind. - DePauw senior Sam McManus became just the fifth student-athlete in DePauw history to earn an individual national championship when he won the 200-yard breaststroke tonight at the NCAA Division III Swimming and Diving Championships at the IU Natatorium.

McManus, who was second in last night's 100 breast, earned his fourth individual all-America honor including two last year. In today's prelims, McManus was fourth after finishing in 2:00.53.

As he did in last night's finals, McManus relied on a strong finish to win the title. After 100 yards, he was in sixth, but closed to third after a 30.33-second split. With 50 yards to go, he pulled ahead with a split of 30.22 and touched first in 1:58.57 which broke his own school record of 1:59.46 which was established at last year's Championships.

McManus joins DePauw's previous national champions which include Alan Hill (men's track and field/pole vault, 1981), Midi Smyth (women's swimming and diving/100 backstroke, 1985), Colin Smith (men's track and field/discus, 1998), Liz Bondi (women's tennis/singles, 2007).

In today's prelims, the 400 free relay of Adam Pircon, Will Serf, McManus and Kurt Swieter was 18th in 3:04.95.

DePauw totaled 47 points for the meet and finished 15th which was their best finish since 2015.