Tigers Top Engineers; Move to 8-4 and Finish Third at Tampa Bay Shootout

Tigers Top Engineers; Move to 8-4 and Finish Third at Tampa Bay Shootout

Tampa, Fla. - Five Tigers scored in double figures as DePauw moved to 8-4 on the season and finished third at the Tampa Bay Shootout with a 77-73 win over WPI. The Engineers dropped to 9-2.

WPI held a 21-17 lead midway through the first half before DePauw put together an 11-3 run to grab a 28-24 advantage. The Tigers took a 35-30 lead into the halftime.

The Engineers evened the score at 41-41 in the first four minutes of the second half, but Cole Jenkins drained a 3-pointer that started a 10-2 DePauw stretch that would give the Tigers a 51-43 cushion.

WPI was within two at 69-67 before Josh Hall nailed a trey with 2:23 remaining to extend the lead back to five. The Engineers came up empty on their next four possession before Justin McMahon hit a pair of free throws with 31 seconds left to make it 74-67. McMahon hit one of two charity tosses with two seconds left to seal the victory.

Hall led the Tigers with 17, while Jenkins and Ken Decker each had 12. Nick Felke and Nolan Ginther each added 10 and Felke also chipped in seven rebounds and a career-high nine assists. Felke earned a spot on the all-tournament team for his efforts.

Reid Walker, also an all-tournament team choice, paced WPI with 22 points followed by Jake Wisniewski with 15 and Ethan Harrell with 12 along with a game-high eight rebounds.

DePauw shot 44.0 percent for the game to WPI's 42.4 percent and the Tigers knocked in 10 of 20 from 3-point range to the Engineers' 7 of 18. The Tigers held a 32-29 edge on the boards and committed 13 turnovers to the Engineers' 10.

Maryville won the tournament with a 71-62 win over Otterbein. A complete listing of scores and links to stats are available at the official Tampa Bay Shootout site.

DePauw returns to North Coast Athletic Conference play on Saturday, January 5, with a 3 p.m. contest at 14th-ranked Wooster. 


All-Tournament Team
Dante Hoppa, Maryville (co-MVP)
Emier Bowman, Maryville (co-MVP)
Nick Felke, DePauw
Austin Springer, Otterbein
Reid Walker, WPI