Heidelberg Captures TBS Championship over Tigers

Heidelberg Captures TBS Championship over Tigers

Tampa, Fla. – Heidelberg denied DePauw their ninth consecutive Tampa Bay Shootout championship with a 69-65 victory on Saturday.

DePauw had an opportunity to tie it late but David Vogel missed a jumper with less than 10 seconds remaining. Myron Prewitt, who led Heidelberg with 15 points, made two free throws to close the game.

Jack VandeMerkt scored 16 points to lead DePauw off the bench. Cris Burrough and Vogel each scored 10, while Vogel grabbed a team-high six rebounds. Prince Benson and James Hanley each scored 13 for the Student Princes.

DePauw shot 50 percent (27-of-54) from the floor, 29 percent (5-of-17) from the arc and just 38 percent (6-of-16) from the free throw line. Heidelberg went 49 percent (27-of-55) from the floor, 41 percent (7-of-17) from 3-point range and 67 percent (8-of-12) from the line.

Heidelberg led 30-27 at halftime but just five minutes into the second half DePauw held their largest lead at 39-34 after a quick 12-4 run. At 7:30, a 3-pointer from Hanley put Heidelberg back on top 55-54.

The lead tilted back into DePauw's favor after a layup from James Clarke with 5:02 remaining. Heidelberg captured the lead for good on another 3-pointer from Hanley to go up 62-60 with 2:51 remaining.

DePauw outrebounded Heidelberg 33-30 and outscored them 32-20 in bench points. Heidelberg held the 13-4 advantage in points off turnovers.

The Tigers drop to 3-8, and the Student Princes improve to 6-5. DePauw returns home on Wednesday when they face Boyce.

All Tourney Team

MVP - James Hanley (Heidelberg)

Kiere Bennie (Heidelberg)

Arinze Obiora (UMASS)

Hunter Kuehn (Hampden-Sydney)

Riley Doody (DePauw)