11 Tigers Earn All-Conference Honors; Five Named to First Team

11 Tigers Earn All-Conference Honors; Five Named to First Team

Greencastle, Ind. - In voting by the conference's coaches, 11 DePauw student-athletes have been selected to the All-North Coast Athletic Conference Football Team including five on the first team.

DePauw's defense which leads the NCAC and ranks eighth in Division III against the run, was represented by four first teamers including outside linebacker Chandler Nicholson (Sr., Bedford, Ind./Bedford North Lawrence), inside linebacker Matt Crupi (Sr., Westfield, Ind./Westfield), defensive end Nate Orrison (Sr., Wheaton, Ill./Glenbard West) and defensive back Brooks Hepp (Sr., Fishers, Ind./Bishop Chatard).

Nicholson was a second team choice last year and recorded 40 tackles this season including 3.0 for losses. He shared the team lead with three interceptions including one returned for a touchdown. Crupi, also a second team selection in 2017, led the team with 79 tackles and was second with 11.5 tackles for loss which included two interceptions. 

Orrison was a second team selection in 2017 and honorable mention in 2016 and led the NCAC this season with 17.5 tackles for loss and 11.5 sacks. His sacks rank 11th in Division III and he finished with 44 tackles on the season. Hepp, a second team selection in 2016, was third on the squad with 54 tackles and shared the team lead with three interceptions and eight pass breakups.

Kicker Jake Tanner (Sr., Zionsville, Ind./University) was a first team specialist who successfully booted all 28 extra-point attempts and connected on 15 of 19 field goal tries. The 15 field goals tied a DePauw single-season record and his 1.5 field goals made per game leads Division III. He tied the DePauw single-game mark after making four against Denison on October 13. 

Second team honors went to wide receiver Andy Hunt (Sr., Indianapolis, Ind./Heritage Christian) and defensive lineman Ashaun Miller (Sr., Terre Haute, Ind./Terre Haute North). Hunt became the first DePauw player to lead the team in receptions for four straight years after grabbing 66 catches for 719 yards with 10 touchdowns. He ranked 21st in the nation and second in the NCAC with 7.3 catches per game. Miller, who also played center for the Tigers late in the season, was a first team choice last season. He finished the season with 19 tackles including 3.5 for losses of which 1.5 were sacks.

Four Tigers earned honorable mention including outside linebacker Brody Gude (Jr., Avon, Ind./Avon), inside linebacker Zach Williams (Sr., Avon, Ind./Avon), defensive end Matt Mitsch (Sr., Indianapolis, Ind./Cathedral) and punter Ty Johnson (Jr., Shelbyville, Ind./Shelbyville). Gude was fourth on the squad with 49 tackles, third with 7.5 tackles for loss and tied for second with 4.0 sacks. He also intercepted two passes. Williams recorded 48 tackles in seven games including 5.0 tackles for loss, 2.5 sacks and one interception. Mitsch totaled 32 tackles with 4.0 going for losses. Williams and Mitsch were both honorable mention selections in 2017.

The complete team is available here.