DePauw Sports Medicine

The DePauw sports medicine staff consists of five athletic trainers and five team physicians who serve the needs of the University's intercollegiate athletics program.  DePauw’s athletic trainers are allied health care professionals who are educated and experienced in sports injury evaluation, treatment, rehabilitation, and in the prevention of sports injuries. Each athletic trainer is licensed in Indiana and certified by the Board of Certification.

Dr. David Harsha is the DePauw University team physician and Dr. Mark Booher is an associate team physician.  Both Dr. Harsha and Dr. Booher are board certified in sports medicine and family medicine and are members of the Hendricks Regional Health Medical Group.  Dr. Chad Waits serves as DePauw's orthopedic team physician and Dr. Michael Thieken and Dr. Kyle Ritter serve as associate orthopedic team physicians.  Dr. Chad Waits and Dr. Kyle Ritter are orthopedic surgeons with Hendricks Regional Health Medical Group in Danville.  Michael Thieken is an orthopedic surgeon with OrthoIndy in Indianapolis and is sports medicine board certified. 

The objectives of DePauw University Sports Medicine are:

  • to promote the physical and psychosocial welfare of each individual student-athlete;   
  • to provide support to the student-athlete following an athletic injury;                  
  • to manage the student-athlete’s injury care and provide treatment and rehabilitation strategies to facilitate the recovery process and assist the student-athlete in a safe return to competitive play;
  • to educate teams and athletes on injury prevention  
  • to promote healthy lifestyles and behaviors that enhance athletic performance and are carried over to the athlete’s adult life.