Timothy A. Weaver
Graduation Year: 1986
Induction Year: 2007
Sport (s): Baseball, Football

Timothy A. Weaver is a partner in Barnes & Thornburg LLP’s Elkhart, Ind., office. He is a member of the firm’s business department. Weaver’s practice includes assisting clients with acquisitions and dispositions of businesses, strategic planning, commercial contracts and other general corporate matters. Weaver also provides legal advice to financial institutions regarding commercial and real estate transactions. Weaver received a bachelor’s degree in history from DePauw in 1986, graduating magna cum laude. He received a J.D. degree cum laude from Northwestern University School of Law in 1990. While in law school, Weaver was the Note and Comment editor of the Northwestern University Law Review and a member of the Order of the Coif. Upon graduation from law school, he served as a law clerk to the Hon. Kenneth F. Ripple of the United States Court of Appeals for the Seventh Circuit. While a student at DePauw, Weaver was a letterman in both football and baseball. His success in football was truly impressive: receiving leader in 1983, 1984 and 1986; kickoff return leader in 1982 and 1983; punt return leader in 1982, 1983 and 1984; all-purpose running leader in 1983 and 1984; and scoring leader in 1984. As an all-time career football leader, his 1982-86 numbers stand out: pass receptions – 139; reception yards – 1,906; punt return yards – 1,018; scoring points – 166; and all-purpose yards – 3,417. He was named football MVP in 1984 and 1986; in addition, he led the nation in punt returns in 1982 with a 17.7 yard average. Serving as captain in 1985 and 1986, he was also an Academic All-American in 1984 and 1986. As a baseball letterman, Weaver was a yearly leader with 22 runs and was named an all-time letterman in 1983. That same year he stole 11 bases and walked 11 times. In 2005, he was inducted into the Elkhart County Sports Hall of Fame. Weaver has been and continues to be active in his community, and he currently serves on the board of directors for the Boys and Girls Club of Nappanee.