Suzanne Peters and Larisa Luloff Named Amy Hasbrook Award Co-Recipients

Suzanne Peters and Larisa Luloff Named Amy Hasbrook Award Co-Recipients

Greencastle, Ind. - Suzanne Peters (Fort Wayne, Ind./Homestead) and Larisa Luloff (Cary, Ill./Cary-Grove) have been selected DePauw's Amy Hasbrook Award co-recipients as the top senior female student-athletes for 2018-19.

The Hasbrook Award is presented annually to a senior female student-athlete who best exemplifies effort and excellence in academics, athletics, leadership, integrity, dedication to the team, campus involvement and community service.

Peters, who earlier this year was selected to the Google Cloud Academic All-America® Division III Volleyball Team and named an NCAA Postgraduate Scholarship recipient, was an American Volleyball Coaches Association Third Team All-America selection in her senior season. The 2018 North Coast Athletic Conference Player of the Year and two-time all-NCAC first team choice helped the Tigers to an 18-11 overall record, a second-place finish in the NCAC and the program's fifth NCAA postseason appearance in the last six years. Peters finished her career with 1,438 kills which ranks fifth in school history. Her 443 kills this season were the 10th highest single-season total in school history.

Peters graduated Magna Cum Laude with a Bachelor of Arts degree and majored in kinesiology. She earned Phi Beta Kappa honors, was inducted into Chi Alpha Sigma National College Athlete Honor Society, served on the Order of Omega executive board and was a member of the Kinesiology Honors Society.

Luloff was named the Ping Women's Golf Coaches Association Division III Golfer of the Year and a first team all-America choice. She finished in a tie for fourth at the 2019 NCAA Division III Championships after leading the Tigers to a fifth-place team finish at the national tournament. Luloff led the Tigers in scoring average all four seasons including a school-record 74.28 this season. In 95 career rounds, Luloff set a DePauw record with a 77.35 scoring average. She won six tournaments this year and finished in the top six of all 12 tournaments in which she competed. Luloff was the medalist at the 2019 North Coast Athletic Conference Championships and named the NCAC Golfer of the Year. She also was a second team all-America selection as a junior and honorable mention following her sophomore season.

She graduated with a Bachelor of Arts degree and majored in history. Luloff served on DePauw's Student-Athlete Advisory Committee and volunteered at Asbury Towers Retirement Community throughout her four years. She served as director of new members at Delta Gamma where she was also an honor board member.

Other finalists for this year's Hasbrook Award included Megan Galle (tennis), Sidney Holler (softball), Maya Howard (basketball) and Mary Woods (swimming and diving).

Paul Christian of the men's cross country and track and field teams was named recipient of the Phil Eskew Award as the top senior male student-athlete. Complete information on that is available here.

The awards are named for former DePauw student-athletes Amy Hasbrook '00 and Phil Eskew Jr. '63. Hasbrook was a four-year letterwinner for the women's basketball team who lost her life in a fire in 2002. Eskew, the president of DePauw's "D" Association for over 20 years, was a 1994 inductee into the DePauw Athletic Hall of Fame and was instrumental in its formation in 1986.

Amy Hasbrook Award Winners Phil Eskew Award Winners
2005 Amy Argetsinger, basketball 2005 JaMarcus Shephard, football/track and field
2006 Leslie Dillon, cross country/track and field 2006 P.J. Mitchell, baseball
2007 Liz Bondi, basketball/tennis 2007 Evan Webeler, tennis
  Sarah Gates, golf    
2008 Katie Doogan, swimming and diving 2008 Rob Alexander, swimming and diving
      Jeremiah Marks, football
2009 Amanda Stier, swimming and diving 2009 Michael McNelis, football
2010 Lauren Reich, cross country/track and field 2010 John Cook, swimming and diving
  Megan Soultz, softball   Spud Dick, football
2011 Courtney Lauer, track and field 2011 Jonathan Lambert, football
2012 Catie Baker, swimming and diving 2012 Kreigh Kamman, soccer
2013 Bridgette Shamleffer, field hockey 2013 Matt Kukurugya, swimming and diving
  Kate Walker, basketball    
2014 Paige Gooch, golf 2014 Jack Burgeson, swimming and diving
2015 Maggie MacPhail, tennis 2015 Alex Alfonso, swimming and diving
2016 Caroline Zadina, soccer 2016 Marcus Dozier, track and field
      Alex Grissom, swimming and diving
2017 Annie Graves, swimming and diving 2017 Julian Gonzalez, soccer
      Matt Hunt, football
2018 Emma Baldwin, softball 2018 Polo Burguete, cross country/track and field
      Sam McManus, swimming and diving
2019  Larisa Luloff, golf 2019 Paul Christian, cross country/track and field 
  Suzanne Peters, volleyball