Emma Baldwin Selected as 2018 Amy Hasbrook Award Recipient

Emma Baldwin Selected as 2018 Amy Hasbrook Award Recipient

Greencastle, Ind. - Emma Baldwin (Oak Park, Ill./Oak Park River Forest), a kinesiology major and studio art minor on the softball team, has been selected as DePauw's top senior female student-athlete by the University's department of intercollegiate athletics as she earned the Amy Hasbrook Award.

The Hasbrook Award is presented annually to a senior female student-athlete who best exemplifies effort and excellence in academics, athletics, leadership, integrity, dedication to the team, campus involvement and community service.

Baldwin, DePauw's NCAA Woman of the Year nominee, earned four varsity letters as a pitcher for the Tigers' softball team. A two-time National Fastpitch Coaches Association All-Central Region selection, Baldwin earned all-NCAC honors all four years including first team selections each of the last three. She earned a spot on the NCAC All-Tournament Team all four years including Most Valuable Player honors in 2015 and 2018. Baldwin's 20 career saves are a DePauw and NCAC record and rank in a tie for fifth in NCAA Division III history, while her 600 strikeouts are second in DePauw history and an NCAC record. Baldwin's 8.19 strikeouts per seven innings over her career are a school record and she posted a school single-season record six saves in 2015 and matched it in 2017. Baldwin helped lead DePauw to four NCAC titles, three NCAC Tournament championships, four NCAA Division III Championship appearances including a fifth-place national finish in 2015.

Off the field, Baldwin was a two-time Chi Alpha Sigma honoree, earned NCAC Academic Honor Roll accolades all three eligible years and was named to DePauw's Dean's List four semesters. She served on the Student-Athlete Advisory Committee all four years including two as vice-president and her senior year as president. Baldwin served a Winter Term in Service in Equador with Timmy Global Health in addition to an internship at the Orthotic Centre Limited in New Zealand.

Other finalists for this year's Hasbrook Award included Maddy Burds (field hockey), Melinda Franke (basketball), Keegan Kollias (volleyball) and Alyssa Seneviratne (tennis).

Polo Burguete of the men's cross country and track and field teams as well as Sam McManus of the men's swimming and diving squad, were named co-recipients of the Phil Eskew Award as the top senior male student-athlete. Complete information on that is available here.

The awards are named for former DePauw student-athletes Amy Hasbrook '00 and Phil Eskew Jr. '63. Hasbrook was a four-year letterwinner for the women's basketball team who lost her life in a fire in 2002. Eskew, the president of DePauw's "D" Association for over 20 years, was a 1994 inductee into the DePauw Athletic Hall of Fame and was instrumental in its formation in 1986.

Amy Hasbrook Award Winners Phil Eskew Award Winners
2005 Amy Argetsinger, basketball 2005 JaMarcus Shephard, football/track and field
2006 Leslie Dillon, cross country/track and field 2006 P.J. Mitchell, baseball
2007 Liz Bondi, basketball/tennis 2007 Evan Webeler, tennis
  Sarah Gates, golf    
2008 Katie Doogan, swimming and diving 2008 Rob Alexander, swimming and diving
      Jeremiah Marks, football
2009 Amanda Stier, swimming and diving 2009 Michael McNelis, football
2010 Lauren Reich, cross country/track and field 2010 John Cook, swimming and diving
  Megan Soultz, softball   Spud Dick, football
2011 Courtney Lauer, track and field 2011 Jonathan Lambert, football
2012 Catie Baker, swimming and diving 2012 Kreigh Kamman, soccer
2013 Bridgette Shamleffer, field hockey 2013 Matt Kukurugya, swimming and diving
  Kate Walker, basketball    
2014 Paige Gooch, golf 2014 Jack Burgeson, swimming and diving
2015 Maggie MacPhail, tennis 2015 Alex Alfonso, swimming and diving
2016 Caroline Zadina, soccer 2016 Marcus Dozier, track and field
      Alex Grissom, swimming and diving
2017 Annie Graves, swimming and diving 2017 Julian Gonzalez, soccer
      Matt Hunt, football
2018 Emma Baldwin, softball 2018 Polo Burguete, cross country/track and field
      Sam McManus, swimming and diving