Six Alumni to Earn Induction into Athletics Hall of Fame on September 8

Six Alumni to Earn Induction into Athletics Hall of Fame on September 8

Greencastle, Ind. - Six DePauw alumni from four different decades and encompassing seven different teams will be inducted into the DePauw Athletics Hall of Fame on Saturday, September 8. The ceremony is scheduled for 10 a.m. in Kresge Auditorium. 

New inductees include Scott Farnham (1997/Football), Amy Argetsinger Newman (2005/Women's Basketball), Ted Rutan (1982/Men's Basketball and Baseball), JaMarcus Shephard (2005/Football and Men's Track & Field), Sid Showalter (1964/Men's Swimming & Diving) and Sarah Gates Wagoner (2007/Women's Golf). These six join the more than 200 student-athletes, coaches and administrators who have earned induction since 1986. A complete hall of fame listing is available here.

Farnham was a Football Gazette First Team All-America selection in 1996 as well as its Defensive Back of the Year in addition to earning Hewlett-Packard First Team All-America honors. As a senior, Farnham also garnered Academic All-America® Second Team accolades. Farnham also was a first team All-Indiana Collegiate Athletic Conference defensive back as a senior. His 10 interceptions in 1996 still stand as a DePauw single-season record and were second among all Division III players that season. Farnham's 16 career interceptions still rank third in program history.  The 1996 George E. Lortz Scholar Athlete award winner for highest senior cumulative GPA, Farnham was DePauw's Gaumey Neal Defensive Player of the Year in 1996 and captained the team to a 9-1 overall record including 7-0 for the ICAC championship. As a senior, he was one of 20 finalists on all levels for the National Association of Collegiate Directors of Athletics Preseason Games Scholar-Athlete Postgraduate Scholarship. 

Newman graduated as the school's all-time women's basketball scoring leader (1,447) and earned DIII News Fourth Team All-America honors in 2005 in addition to Women's Basketball Coaches Association/Kodak Honorable Mention All-America. A Jostens Award finalist. Newman was a three-time all-Southern Collegiate Athletic Conference first team selection, the conference's Newcomer of the Year in 2002 and the Player of the Year in 2004 and 2005. She helped the team to three NCAA appearances including a third-place finish in 2002. She still holds DePauw career records for free throws made (356) and free throws attempted (452) and is second in scoring. Newman was the first recipient of DePauw's Amy Hasbrook Award, honoring an outstanding senior female student-athlete.

Rutan earned three varsity letters in baseball and two in basketball. The baseball team's rookie of the year in 1979 and co-captain in 1982, Rutan led the squad in runs in 1980 and 1982 and his 101 career runs scored were a program record at the time. His 97 career walks still rank third in school history. He joined the basketball team for the 1981-82 season and led the squad in assists both seasons as his 171 in 1982-83 still rank fourth in school history and the 170 the previous season are fifth. His 341 career assists rank sixth in school history, while his 6.8 per game in each season are the two best seasons by a DePauw player. Rutan's 13 assists in a game were a school record until 2002 and his 53 steals in 1982-83 are the fourth in school history. He also ranks second in school history with a career .859 free throw percentage. Rutan's career averages of 6.8 assists and 1.9 steals per game are both school records.

Shephard was a two-time American Football Coaches Association First Team All-America as a return specialist and was named All-America First Team (2003), Football Gazette All-America Second Team (2003) and Associated Press Little All-America Second Team (2003). A two-time Southern Collegiate Athletic Conference Special Teams Player of the Year, Shephard was a two-time first team all-SCAC wide receiver and second team as a sophomore. He played in the 2004 Aztec Bowl (Division III All-Stars vs. Mexico) in addition to being DePauw's first-ever and still only representative in the Hula Bowl. The 2004 team co-captain and 2003 offensive MVP is the only DePauw player to return two kickoffs for touchdowns in a single game. He holds school records for single-season kickoff return yards (659) and career (1,430) and ranks third in school history with 3,997 all-purpose yards, fifth in career pass receptions (168), sixth in receiving yards (2,382) and tied for sixth with 17 touchdown receptions. As a member of the track and field team he also competed on school-record 4x100-meter relay that finished 12th at the 2002 NCAA Outdoor Track & Field Championships. He was the first recipient of DePauw's Phil Eskew Award, honoring an outstanding senior male student-athlete.

Showalter earned three letters in swimming and diving and was the team's most valuable swimmer in 1963 and captain as a senior. In 1962, he was part of a 400-yard medley relay that broke the school record in 4:11.5 and, as a junior, he set a pair of school records in the 60-yard freestyle (29.5 seconds) and the 100-yard freestyle (53.8 seconds). Showalter was the team's leading scorer as a junior and senior.

Wagoner, a four-time First Team Division III All-America honoree, finished fourth at the 2004 national championships, tied for fourth in 2006, seventh in 2007 and tied for 18th in 2005. Gates was the Southern Collegiate Athletic Conference Golfer of the Year three times as she won three individual titles. The 2006 Division III Kim Moore Spirit Award winner, Gates led the Tigers to three SCAC team titles and no worse than a third-place NCAA finish in all four years including a second-place showing in 2007. Her career scoring average of 79.07 stood as a school record until 2014 and she graduated with three of the top four single-season stroke averages in school history. Gates was a co-recipient, with 2017 Hall of Fame inductee Liz Bondi, of DePauw's Amy Hasbrook Award, honoring an outstanding senior female student-athlete.