Six Alumni and 1981 Football Team Enter Athletics Hall of Fame

Six Alumni and 1981 Football Team Enter Athletics Hall of Fame

Greencastle, Ind. - Six DePauw alumni and one team will be inducted into the University's Athletics Hall of Fame this weekend.  The induction ceremony is set to take place at 10 a.m. on Saturday, October 1, in Kresge Auditorium in the Judson and Joyce Green Center for the Performing Arts. The honorees will also be recognized at halftime of the football game against Kenyon which kicks off at 1 p.m.

The Class of 2016 includes Tom Boese '68 (football), Tom Cath '76 (men's tennis coach), Haley Heathman '03 (women's tennis), Sarah Miller Humbert '97 (women's soccer), Doug Ruud '76 (men's cross country and track and field), Jeff Willis '99 (men's swimming and diving) and the 1981 football team.

Boese earned three varsity letters in football and was a second team all-Indiana Collegiate Conference selection as a senior defensive back in 1967. Regarded by head coach Tom Mont as the best he's seen against a running play.

A three-year starter, Boese led a defense that allowed just 11 points per game in 1967 on the way to a 6-2-1 record. That same season, Boese was selected second team all-America on defense by the American Football Coaches Association and honorable mention United Press International Little All-America. 

Cath served as men's tennis head coach for 24 seasons from 1986-2009 and in that time amassed a 374-165 record for a .694 winning percentage including 23 winning seasons. Twice he was named the NCAA Division III Coach of the Year and three times earned the honor on the regional level. Cath was the Indiana Collegiate Athletic Conference Coach of the Year nine times in 10 seasons and earned similar honors six times in the Southern Collegiate Athletic Conference. He led the Tigers to 10 ICAC titles in 10 seasons and three SCAC championships in 11 years. The 22 wins the Tigers totaled in his final season matched the most in school history.

Cath's DePauw teams competed in the NCAA Division III Championships 15 times including 11 straight from 1999 through 2009. He directed the Tigers to the national quarterfinals in 1990, 2000, 2006 and 2007. In all, DePauw was represented by teams or individuals at 21 of the 24 NCAA Championships during his tenure. Cath also played at DePauw where he earned four varsity letters while playing number-one doubles all four years and first singles his last two. He competed at the 1976 NCAA Championships in both singles and doubles.

Heathman was a three-year varsity letter winner for the Tigers and posted career records of 77-18 in singles and 73-22 in doubles. She competed in the NCAA Division III singles championship three times and doubles once, while earning All-America singles honors twice and once in doubles.  At the 2003 NCAA Championships she teamed with Liz Bondi to finish second in the nation in doubles as the duo completed the season with a 35-4 record.

She also finished her senior season with a 37-6 singles mark and was ranked sixth in the nation in addition to being named the Intercollegiate Tennis Association Central Region Senior Player of the Year and the Southern Collegiate Athletic Conference Player of the Year. Heathman won the 2002 ITA Midwest Regional and finished fifth at the organization's national tournament. At the 2001 NCAA Championships, Heathman knocked off the country's top-seed singles player in the opening round. 

Humbert was a four-year letter winner for the women's soccer team and captain as a senior and, at the time of her induction, still held DePauw career records for goals (45), assists (37) and points (127). The Tigers' Most Valuable Offensive Player in both 1994 and 1996, Humbert earned all-Indiana Collegiate Athletic Conference honors as a senior in the first year for soccer in the conference. She was a second team all-Mideast Region selection in 1994 and was the team's most valuable player, while scoring 18 goals and totaling 46 points.

Ruud earned four letters in cross country and three in track and field and was a three-time team most valuable runner in cross country. In cross country, Ruud finished 10th at the 1972 Indiana Collegiate Conference Championships, sixth in 1973 and third in 1974. As a sophomore, he placed 118th in the NCAA Division III Meet and as a junior he was 60th among over 300 runners at the national meet.

In each of his first three seasons, he set new Windy Hill home course five-mile records and also set new DePauw three-mile records. Ruud also set DePauw's four- and five-mile records as a junior. The five-mile record of 24:48 is the fifth fastest all time for DePauw at the time of his induction. As a senior co-captain of the track team, he broke a 44-year old two-mile indoor track school record in 9:27.9. At the time of his induction, he still ranked third indoors in DePauw history in the mile and seventh in the 3,000 meters. During the 1974 outdoor season he battled injury, but still finished third in the mile at the Indiana Collegiate Conference Championships. Ruud still ranks sixth in the DePauw history in the outdoor 3,000 meters.

Willis earned four varsity letters in swimming and diving for the Tigers and graduated with school records in the 1,000-yard freestyle (9:45.31) and the 1,650 free (16:13.63). A three-year NCAA Division III qualifier, Willis earned honorable mention all-America at the 1998 Championships after finishing ninth in the 1,650 free in 16:16.50. In 1997 he also earned honorable mention all-America as the leadoff swimmer in the 800 free relay, which placed 12th in the country.

As a junior, Willis entered the NCAA Championships with the 10th fastest time in the 1,650 free. At the 1999 Southern Collegiate Athletic Conference Championships, Willis earned all-conference honors in the 500 free and 1,650 free and captured the conference title in the latter. He was a three-time 1,650 free champion at the DePauw Invitational and twice at the Liberal Arts Invitational, while winning the 500 free twice at the DePauw Invitational and once at the Liberal Arts meet. 

The 1981 football team was the first in school history to win nine games as it finished 9-1 on the season and the highest ranked as it finished the season ninth in Division III. After losing the third game of the season to eventual Division III runner-up, Dayton, the Tigers won seven straight including a 21-14 victory in the season finale over Wabash at Blackstock Stadium to capture the Monon Bell for the first time since 1975. That win ended Wabash's undefeated season and snapped its streak of 24 straight games without a loss.

DePauw limited opponents to just 274.1 yards and 11.1 points per game and held four opponents to single-digit point totals and eight to 14 or fewer points. The team set a school record at the time with 24 interceptions. Offensively, they scored 30 or more points four times. In all, individuals and the team tied or set 40 school single-game, season and career records.

Since the charter class of 25 was inducted in 1986, 196 individuals and three teams have previously been inducted into the Athletics Hall of Fame. A complete listing of inductees if available here.