Caroline Zadina Named DePauw's Amy Hasbrook Award Winner

Caroline Zadina Named DePauw's Amy Hasbrook Award Winner

Greencastle, Ind. - Caroline Zadina (Glencoe, Ill./Loyola Academy), a psychology major and interpersonal communication minor on the women's soccer team, has been selected as DePauw's top senior female student-athlete by the University's department of intercollegiate athletics as she earned the Amy Hasbrook Award.

The Hasbrook Award is presented annually to a senior female student-athlete who best exemplifies effort and excellence in academics, athletics, leadership, integrity, dedication to the team, campus involvement and community service.

A midfielder for the Tigers, Zadina served as captain and was most valuable player of the 2015 team that won the North Coast Athletic Conference regular season and tournament championships. She led DePauw to 12-7-2 overall record as the Tigers advanced to the second round of the NCAA Division III Championship for the first time since 2005. Zadina, who scored two goals on the season, earned honorable mention all-NCAC honors in 2015 and 2013.

Zadina recorded the highest cumulative grade point average of any DePauw senior female student-athlete last spring and, as a junior, was initiated into both Phi Beta Kappa and Chi Alpha Sigma honor societies. She was recipient of the Charles and Frances (Wylie) Condit Science Scholarship for psychology in 2015 and was a poster presenter at the 2015 Midwest Psychological Association Conference in 2015 as well as a Prindle Ethics Symposium presentation winner in 2013.

Zadina was the team's representative to DePauw's Student-Athlete Advisory Committee (SAAC) and, as a senior, served as a presidential ambassador and on the academic life committee. She also was DePauw's representative on the NCAC's Branch Rickey Mentor Program. Zadina served the community as a head coach in the Putnam County Youth Soccer League and participated in a three-week trip to El Salvador as part of DePauw's extended studies program.

Other finalists for this year's Hasbrook Award included Caroline Bridges (swimming & diving), Linsey Button (softball), Maryclaire Heldring (lacrosse), Abby Keller (basketball) and Keely McGrath (volleyball).

Marcus Dozier of the men's track and field team and Alex Grissom, of the men's swimming and diving squad, were named co-recipients of the Phil Eskew Award as the top senior male student-athlete. Complete information on that is available here.

The awards are named for former DePauw student-athletes Amy Hasbrook '00 and Phil Eskew Jr. '63. Hasbrook was a four-year letterwinner for the women's basketball team who lost her life in a fire in 2002. Eskew, the president of DePauw's "D" Association for over 20 years, was a 1994 inductee into the DePauw Athletic Hall of Fame and was instrumental in its formation in 1986.


Amy Hasbrook Award Winners Phil Eskew Award Winners
2005 Amy Argetsinger, basketball 2005 JaMarcus Shephard, football/track and field
2006 Leslie Dillon, cross country/track and field 2006 P.J. Mitchell, baseball
2007 Liz Bondi, basketball/tennis 2007 Evan Webeler, tennis
  Sarah Gates, golf 2008 Rob Alexander, swimming and diving
2008 Katie Doogan, swimming and diving   Jeremiah Marks, football
2009 Amanda Stier, swimming and diving 2009 Michael McNelis, football
2010 Lauren Reich, cross country/track and field 2010 John Cook, swimming and diving
  Megan Soultz, softball   Spud Dick, football
2011 Courtney Lauer, track and field 2011 Jonathan Lambert, football
2012 Catie Baker, swimming and diving 2012 Kreigh Kamman, soccer
2013 Bridgette Shamleffer, field hockey 2013 Matt Kukurugya, swimming and diving
  Kate Walker, basketball
2014 Paige Gooch, golf 2014 Jack Burgeson, swimming and diving
2015 Maggie MacPhail, tennis 2015 Alex Alfonso, swimming and diving
2016 Caroline Zadina, soccer 2016 Marcus Dozier, track and field
      Alex Grissom, swimming and diving