Landahl's Walkoff Single Lifts DePauw to NCAC Tournament Title

Landahl's Walkoff Single Lifts DePauw to NCAC Tournament Title

Greencastle, Ind. - Megan Landahl's walkoff single down the right field line in the bottom of the seventh scored Taylor Golden from third and gave top-seed DePauw a 5-4 win over Wittenberg in the North Coast Athletic Conference Tournament championship game.

DePauw improved to 26-18 with the win and earned the NCAC's automatic qualification into the NCAA Division III Championship. That announcement will come on Monday, May 5, at 10 a.m. Wittenberg finished its season at 24-11.

Golden led off the DePauw seventh with a double before Jennifer Ridge walked. Gabby Smart's grounder moved the runners up a base before Landahl drove the 1-1 pitch down the line.

Wittenberg took a 3-0 lead in the first as Loren Combs led off with a single and Laura Rose reached on an error. Abby Baker's sacrifice bunt advanced both runners before Rachel Ross delivered a two-run single. After Kaitie Harrison doubled, Casey Hobbs reached on a fielder's choice when Ross avoided a tag at the plate.

DePauw came right back in the bottom half of the inning as Golden reached on a fielder's choice after Sammi Bell led off with an infield single. Jennifer Ridge followed with a single to center and Linsey Button tied the game with a homer over the fence in left.

The hosts took a 4-3 lead in the second as Julia Waggoner singled with one out and Bell brought her home with a double to right.

Wittenberg evened the score in the seventh as Kaela Hughes drilled a triple down the right field line and Shannon Lance followed with a run-scoring single up the middle.
Landahl led DePauw with three of its 11 hits, while Bell and Button each had two. Abby Baker paced Wittenberg with two of its seven hits.

Tournament MVP Kahla Nolan improved to 22-12 after striking out five in seven innings. Ross dropped to 18-8. The entire all-tournament team is listed below and all box scores for the tournament are available at the tournament site.

Kahla Nolan, DePauw (MVP)
Julie Rooney, Denison
Taylor Dickson, Ohio Wesleyan
Dani Haley, Ohio Wesleyan
Laura Rose, Wittenberg
Loren Combs, Wittenberg
Rachel Ross, Wittenberg
Taylor Golden, DePauw
Linsey Button, DePauw
Sammi Bell, DePauw
Megan Landahl, DePauw